top of page

pea and Ham hock soup

My husband made this for me a few years ago when I was sick, and I absolutely loved it, and now it is a family favourite :)

Recipe

Yields 8-10

2 small onions

3 carrots

2kg Australian grown frozen peas

2 small ham hocks

water

600ml pure cream

murray river pink salt

pepper

place the ham hocks a long with roughly chopped onions and carrots in a pot and cover completely with water.

bring to the boil and reduce to a simmer, simmer until the ham hock is falling off the bone, about two hours.

remove the two ham hocks and place in fridge to pull apart later.

pour the peas into the ham hock broth and cook for a 3-5 minutes, not to long as you still want the soup to have a vibrant green colour, not brown. :)

add peas and stock to a blender a bit at a time, adjusting each time with the liquid, you may have liquid left over depending on how thick you may like your soup.

pick down the ham hock, I like to remove the skin and just use the meat.

add the blended soup and picked ham hock back to a large pot, add the cream and bring to the boil.

if still to thick add some of the left over ham hock broth or just some plain tap water.

remember to season to your liking.

I like making big batches, so I can freeze some or eat it for lunch during the week.

hope you enjoy :)

here is a photo of my little one enjoying some.

Featured Posts
Categories 
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Instagram - White Circle
bottom of page